Tags

, , , , , ,

my design work on the crust - a fall leaf of sorts Near a month ago I harvested Quince, a week ago I finally made them into a Quince Pie!  I went with Portland Fruit Harvest to a community orchard and we harvested around 100 Pounds of Quince.  Half of that got donated to a local food bank, and the rest was divided among we who came to help pick.

I put mine up in the cupboard for a while to ripen up.  When the smell started to emerge I peeked in the bag and saw that their green skins had softened to yellow, with a hint of green coming through.  I began the laborious process of cutting through their tough flesh to chop them up.  after several hours roasting and several more baking a delicious Gluten free and vegan (skip the egg and butter) Pie emerged!

Fresh hot Quince pie!

Here is the recipe I used (+ my favorite pie crust)  Enjoy!




















Roast peeled and chopped quince (~6-10)
 ~ 2-3 hours, stir every 40 minutes @ 375ºF
 + 2 cup apple cider
 + 1 tbsp vanilla
 + 1/3 cup sugar
 + 2 tbsp Lemon juice
 + 1/2 tsp cardamon
 + 1 cinnamon stick
 Cover glass baking pan with foil and bake
pie filling
 +1/3 cup sugar
 +1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
 +1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
 + pinch ground cloves
 + 1 teaspoon cornstarch
 1/2 cup applesauce?
 +1 tsp vanilla extract
 +4 tbsp Butter (melted)
 tossed with quinces
 gently mound and fill pie, then chill
Cover with a second Pie crust
 brush crust
 + 1 whisked egg
 Sprinkle top w/ cinnamon sugar
 + 3 Tbsp sugar
 + 1/4 tsp cinnamon
 slice a nice pattern with a sharp knife (halfway through dough)
 pierce center with a hole to allow venting
Bake @ 350
 bake 1:40 - 2:00 hours
 until bubbling and crust is nicely browned
